Crypto Transaction Collection System for Tax Purposes in US

This is a great idea, I am just getting into mining. I invest in real estate on a small level and my taxes are messy enough with 15 houses. Crypto is going to be messy tax wise for a few years, this is something that could definitely help us!

A tool like this would definitely be useful for miners and node operators in order to more easily remain tax compliant.

I recently wrote a small python script to track my mining operation. Mostly I wanted to track and graph my hashrate, coin prices, network hashrate, network difficulty, cumulative zencash balance etc and store it in my own database. It does about 90% of what you’re proposal asks.

So the proposal you’ve suggested sounds like a fun project to tinker around with. I’ll see what I can put together over the weekend. My front end development skills are not the prettiest, but I could probably put together a minimum viable product which can output a csv file in the format you specified.

I’m going to scope out all outbound transactions, and assume all inbound transactions are mining/node earnings. I’ll open source it so the Zen team can take it over if needed.

I’m also curious if a tool like this already exists out there. I’ll do some research before hand and see whats available.

Thank you for your interest in this proposed project. Here is a repo for a BTC address scraper. Haven’t tried it, but someone could see if the code was useful.

Fortunately, a lot of the data is already available in existing public APIs. Its just a matter of building the tools to combine them in an end user friendly manner.